It all started in Grade 7. My Language Arts teacher introduced “Magic Journals” to the curriculum. We were instructed to keep a log each day about special moments in our lives. At the time they seemed nothing more than a daily nuisance. There was nothing mystical, surprising or supernatural about a notebook full of college-ruled paper. We were 12 year old kids and the last thing we wanted to do was sit and reflect on “magic” in our lives. Looking back now, Mrs. Hanrahan was a genius.

It was later in life when I began to explore and question. Explore spirituality, question my religion. Explore the reason for living and question why I was taught to recite a religious prayer every night before bed – and was still doing it! Instead of reciting a rhyme I didn’t really understand night after night (a pretty morbid one, now that I think about it), I decided to stop. Feeling a bit lost uprooting a life long bed-time ritual, I decided to replace the prayer with something else. Something simple, something that felt right and most importantly, something that made sense to me; I decided to think of three things each day that I was genuinely grateful for.

Before starting such a routine, pessimism can overwhelm the best intentioned thoughts. We live in a society that tends to broadcast negative events relentlessly while disregard the good. It can leave one to think, well, I have nothing to be grateful for. I believe the following quote says it all:

“Let us rise up and be thankful,
for if we didn’t learn a lot today, at least we learned a little,
and if we didn’t learn a little,
at least we didn’t get sick,
and if we got sick, at least we didn’t die;
so, let us all be thankful.”

– Buddha

I am an advocate for the power of positive thinking. Call me a blind optimist but I believe thinking more about the good in life tends to bring more good. No matter the situation or circumstance we face, I believe we always have something in our lives that could be acknowledged with a Thank you. I dedicate this blog to sharing one a day, of the many things, I am immensely grateful for.

I’m grateful for blogging, so I can share my ideas.

